a gift of lemons

London is all kinds of cold and rainy and windy and gross today, keeping us inside and out of fashion.
We ate at this restaurant a few weeks back, and I couldn’t resist taking a picture of this bowl of ill-attended lemons that were clearly meant to be decorative, not decayed.  I might not have noticed if I hadn’t been sitting right beneath them, but as it happens I have an aesthetic fascination with mold and rot which made this very much my kind of thing.  A little bit along the lines of a 16th-17th century veritas still life, but by accident rather than design, and just the sort of thing I would love to recreate (as design!) in my home, but for P’s penicillin allergy.  Alas.




About lvs

wears her grandfather's watch and her boyfriend's l.l. bean shorts
This entry was posted in London. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a gift of lemons

  1. Ire A says:

    I'm in London too and it's just terrible today! Hopefully it'll get better :)http://voguishblog.blogspot.com/x

Leave a Reply

