Far From Fashion: Holiday Greetings from the Land of Enchantment

cold weather wear

On Sunday I made a last minute decision to spend the holidays at my parents’ house in New Mexico.  I packed up Tammy and we hitched a ride with my father (he was in the area on business) for a twelve-hour trip along IH-10 (El Paso, I love ya, but you’re slowing me down).   I was (well, still am, actually) very torn about leaving P for what will be our first Christmas apart in the six-and-a-half years that we’ve been dating (cue today’s round of teary-eyes) but the consensus among minds other than mine was that a change of scenery might do my stalled-out dissertation some good.  (Here’s hoping — the thing is due in London in less than a month.  A lot less.)  So here I am, hanging out in my favorite house in the world, in what are essentially glorified pajamas.  Oh, you didn’t know?  It’s cold here.  Not like, Minnesota cold, but definitely doing-its-part-to-freeze-me cold.

Seriously — I’m about to take a blogging break to go stoke the fire.  (Well, not really, because I’m probably going to bed when I finish this.  Thinner air makes you sleepier, or something?)

So anyway, I’ve got to stay warm, and I justify this outfit by telling myself that I’m just about to take Tammy for a walk and so of course need to be dressed and ready.  Right?  Heck, I may even sleep in these pants just to get a jump-start tomorrow.  Thus we conclude that laziness can in fact result in efficiency (so long as no one stands too close to me).  Hopefully P will provide the polish, so that I can continue with the putrid.

Now tell me, dear ones, do you slack off sartorially at the holidays?

About lvs

wears her grandfather's watch and her boyfriend's l.l. bean shorts
This entry was posted in Hers, New Mexico, Outfits, Tammy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

